Northern Territory Attractions

Top End

Kakadu National ParkThere are 6 major regions and attractions in the Northern Territory's Top End including Darwin, Kakadu National Park, Territory Wildlife Park, Arnhem Land, Litchfield National Park and Katherine. Darwin, the Territory's capital, is renowned for its markets and festivals and impressive natural harbour. It's also the gateway to the wealth of natural treasures that the Top End has to offer. Australia's largest National Park, Kakadu, is found on the Arnhem Highway, just 250 km from Darwin. World famous for its cultural and natural wonders, Kakadu is home to one of the most concentrated bands of Aboriginal rock art on earth. Head 3 hours south and you'll find the vast river systems, escarpments and gorges that wind through the national parks, reserves and cattle stations of Katherine. The Katherine River cuts through immense sandstone cliffs of Nitmiluk National Park and forms the iconic Katherine Gorge. Just 1.5 hours from Darwin, the Litchfield National Park is another of the Top Ends most spectacular attractions featuring cascading waterfalls, walking tracks and swimming holes where you can immerse yourself in the pioneering history.

The Top End is renowned for its endless unspoiled national parks, tropical climate and distinctive easy-going lifestyle. Made up of four diverse regions, visitors are treated to an abundance of natural wonders as they explore Darwin's metropolis, plentiful Kakadu, tropical Katherine and the rugged, remote plains of Arnhem Land.

Red Centre

Camel Ride - Red CentreNorthern Territory's famous Red Centre gets its reputation from the vast plains of red soil that characterise its landscape. This is the 'ridgey dige' outback, a geological and geographical tourist attraction but an area of profound spiritual significance for the indigenous Aboriginals. It is also home to Australia's most well-known icons Ayers Rock, The Olgas, Kings Canyon, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, East and West MacDonnell Ranges and The Simpson Desert. There is so much to explore and discover in the Red Centre, from hiking the picturesque Larapinta Trail to camping under the stars, taking a hot air balloon ride over the arid landscapes or experiencing one of the world's most ancient cultures with a bush tucker or art tour. The Red Centre Way tourist drive is a fantastic way to take in the breathtaking beauty of Uluru, Kata Tjuta National Park, Kings Canyon, the West MacDonnell Ranges, Alice Springs and this untouched land.

Just a three hour flight from Australia's east and south coast, the red centre is an absolute must-see for every Australian and international visitor. Majestic and unearthly, this is a region filled with remarkable secrets and an intensity that surprises. Start in Alice, the heart of outback, before making your way out to experience Uluru and its unmatched spiritual energy. While in the area, take the time to visit the ancient domes of Kata Tjuta and the spectacular red rock chasms at Kings Canyon. Be sure to try some of the exciting activities around Alice Springs, including camel trekking, scenic flights, swimming holes and four-wheel drive touring. Truly a region abundant with opportunity.